O Cadavo to As Seixas

Des res en route
Des res en route

image

Sweet animals en route
Sweet animals en route
Light playing through the chesnuts
Light playing through the chesnuts

I walked alone today to heading for As Seixas – It feels good walking alone and I have established a good rhythm and have been wearing the much admired rain kilt! Clearly rules of sartorial elegance are somewhat different along the camino ! I decided not to push the kilometres much today as I still felt a bit weird from my day off resting. I was definitely coming to though – in the morning I noticed the terrible state of cleanliness at O Cadavo – left over food piled high on a plate greeted me by the kettle in the early morning. Yuck! Those genial men need a female eye around to ensure the ambience does not get spoilt by grubby habits.

I  arrived at the Municipal Refuge in As Seixas, dripping wet and early- the hospitallerios are never open before 1pm. Luckily there was a deep sheltered porch where I was able to sit and drink a warmish coffee from the vending machine. The rain slaked down.  Eventually the small rather tough looking lady arrived and let me in. I was delighted with the beautiful interior, polished cement floor with underfloor heating, a balcony right next to my chosen bunk with a completely glazed wall where I could sit and read Emily’s kindle after a hot shower and warm up.

In the evening I met with a lovely couple Maria and Marcos and Mark  – an American man travelling with his daughter who had chosen to study in Europe and whom he missed terribly – hence the walk. Her name was a gaelic one, hard for me to fix in memory – something like Arwyn meaning peace. She had no dry clothes left and so came to the bar in her dad’s clothes! I only have a pic of Maria and Marcos but I hope one day to hear from the American two.

Maria and Marcos
Maria and Marcos
2 thoughts on “O Cadavo to As Seixas

  1. Great b&w one Jen! Glad the walking is going well – how amazing to have the stormy weather to further encourage that spirit within – when I was on the boat all those years ago, it was the stormiest seas that brought out such joy in me! Really funny and great too that the rain kilt works well and that people seem to like it… Really done in today but keeping up with the yoga therapy balls. Glad you got your card back – and that you had a good filling meal and hopefully a bed for the night. Love to you – Willow xx

    Like

    1. Yes Ribadiso is such a prettily located albergue. Had a good chat with an American couple in their seventies and walking to try and forgive. They were sweet he is a ‘heathen’ as she teased him but he said a prayer for her in the church they rested in yesterday! Married 51 years much love between them

      Like

Leave a Reply

